Pour Slide Show

approach

Seeking to achieve perfect symbiosis

Great wine is born of an implied bond between people and their terroir. It comes above all from their overriding desire to get things right, from their devotion in looking after the vines and the soil to the best of their ability and from the precision with which they craft the wines. Everything counts, and at Château Petit Val the greatest attention is paid to working in harmony with our vines. It is our ambition to achieve perfect symbiosis between nature, the hand of Man and the wine produced, to ensure we get the very best.

The real asset of the Château Petit Val estate is the diversity and complementarity of its different terroirs. The vineyard consists of 12 hectares (30 acres) of perfectly balanced sandy clay and clayey limestone soils, ideal characteristics for wine growing.

Led by the estate manager David Liorit, our team has adopted a rational cultivation process that prioritises a balanced approach aiming to enrich our soil, protect the fruit and leave time for the benefit of our wines.

  • We aim to grow our wines while protecting our vines and their environment by sowing cereals, encouraging the use of grass as a cover crop and increasing biodiversity by planting fruit trees, hedges and by setting up hives. We control yields depending on the potential of the vines.
  • sIn order to protect the fruit the grapes are picked by hand and placed carefully in trays to ensure they are not damaged. They are immediately cooled to avoid oxidation and cleaned using a Viniclean machine, then sorted by hand. This way we ensure that only the very best of the harvest, the “caviar” remains.
  • Throughout the winemaking process, we take time: the fruit undergoes a cold soak to give it time to express itself fully, to extract the intense colour and silk of the wine. The winery and ageing cellar have been reorganised to improve wine making conditions. Château Petit Val is made in stainless steel vats, while the more concentrated Muse du Val is made by vinifying whole grapes. With great thoroughness, David Liorit meticulously blends and crafts the wines that are enhanced by time.

The ambition to share enjoyment

Jean-Louis Alloin and David Liorit share the ambition of giving Château Petit Val all the advantages of a Grand Cru Classé by focussing on quality both in the vineyard and the winery.

Château Petit Val has embarked on a quality process that strives to combine the generosity of the soil with the know-how of Man, to extract the very best and propose wines worthy of the great appellations. All the hard work done since the property was acquired has definitely borne fruit.

To express the best from this terroir and ensure the estate’s long life, substantial investments have been made and work carried out: the winery has been enlarged and the stainless steel vats renovated and equipped to enable cap punching, while the cellars have been modernised. This work was done to reorganise processes and reveal the beauty and quality of this people-sized estate, while sharing our lifestyle with visitors.

Pour Slide Show

Démarche

La quête de la parfaite Alchimie

Un grand vin naît de la complicité silencieuse entre les hommes et leur terroir et surtout de l’extrême exigence qui dirige les gestes des hommes et des femmes, de leur dévouement afin d’apporter le meilleur soin à la terre, à la plante et au travail de qualité qu’ils mènent dans l’élaboration des vins. Chaque geste compte. C’est ainsi qu’à Château Petit Val la plus grande attention est accordée pour œuvrer en complicité avec nos vignobles. Réaliser l’alchimie parfaite entre l’homme, la nature et le vin est notre ambition pour en tirer le meilleur, sa véritable quintessence.

La richesse exceptionnelle du vignoble de Château Petit Val repose sur la diversité et la complémentarité de ses terroirs. Répartis sur 12 hectares de sols sablo-argileux et argilo-calcaires parfaitement équilibrés, le vignoble offre ainsi à ses vignes leur caractère exceptionnel.
Portée par son directeur d’exploitation, David LIORIT, notre équipe a adopté un mode de culture raisonnée qui s’inscrit dans une démarche d’équilibre, respectueuse de la terre, du fruit et du temps qui sublime nos vins :

  • Une viticulture respectueuse de la vigne et de son environnement : l’implantation de céréales, les sols enherbés et une biodiversité favorisée par la plantation d’arbres fruitiers, de haies et l’installation de ruches. Une maîtrise des rendements est appliquée en adéquation avec le potentiel de la vigne.
  • Respectueuse du fruit : vendangés manuellement, les raisins sont minutieusement placés en cagettes pour garantir toute leur intégrité. Refroidis aussitôt pour éviter toute oxydation, ils sont nettoyés par machine viniclean, puis triés manuellement. Alors seul demeure le meilleur de la récolte, le « caviar ».
  • Respectueuse du temps : la macération pré-fermentaire à froid va exprimer tout le fruit, l’intensité colorante et le soyeux du vin. Le cuvier et les chais repensés parfont les conditions de vinification, en cuve inox pour le Château Petit Val, en vinification intégrale pour Muse du Val plus concentrée. Minutieux et appliqué David LIORIT assemble et façonne les vins que le temps magnifie.

L’ambition du plaisir partagé

L’ambition de Jean-Louis Alloin et David Liorit, portée par leur exigence de qualité à la vigne comme au chai, est d’offrir à Château Petit Val les atouts d’un Grand Cru Classé.

Allier la générosité de la terre au savoir-faire des hommes, extraire la quintessence pour offrir un vin digne des grandes appellations, Château Petit Val s’inscrit dans une démarche de qualité et les efforts entrepris depuis le rachat de la propriété ont porté leurs fruits.

Pour exprimer le meilleur de son terroir et pérenniser le domaine, d’importants investissements ont été consentis / travaux ont été entrepris : agrandissement du cuvier, rénovation des cuves inox équipées pour pigeage, modernisation des chais sont autant de travaux de restructuration conçus pour révéler la beauté et la qualité de ce vignoble à taille humaine et partager avec ses visiteurs l’art de vivre célébré.